City’s Heritage Advisory Committee Presents Four 2023 Heritage Awards

hhart-rushinko@moosejaw.caAll News, Home Page News, Press Releases

Moose Jaw, SK – The City of Moose Jaw is pleased to announce there are four recipients for the 2023 Municipal Heritage Awards. Winners were selected by the Heritage Advisory Committee and awarded at the March 11 regular meeting of Moose Jaw City Council. The list of winners is below:

Collection of Distinction – Known as the Three Sisters, three Dutch colonial style homes (104, 110, 114 Oxford Street W), that were built over 100 years ago, now carry this honour. They were chosen for their unique attic diamond windows and curved main windows on the front second floor bookended with two small square windows situated to each side. Featuring welcoming front porches, these three homes are considered landmarks in some of the earliest photos of Moose Jaw and continue to stand the test of time.

Stewardship Award – Museum of Schools Room (A.E. Peacock/Prairie South School Division), assembled by previous Principal Dustin Swanson and current Principal Tana Arnott. The pair are recognized for stewarding the history of local schools through their display. The room has a collection of yearbooks, a gold-plated cane which was gifted to William Grayson for his time on the school board, the Order of Canada which A.E. Peacock Collegiate received in 1977, and most notably a signed letter from Winston Churchill, acknowledging the statue of him which sits outside the main entrance of the school.

Advocacy/Heritage Education Award– A perfect pairing between the Western Development Museum and Seniors Centre Without Walls Saskatchewan earned them the Advocacy Award for their Heritage Presentation Series. Back in 2020, the Museum began monthly, provincial heritage-themed presentations by telephone to a group of seniors involved in the Free Telephone Program hosted by Seniors Without Walls Saskatchewan. Some of the benefits of the program are helping seniors reduce social isolation and loneliness and connecting them with stories from across the province.

Sympathetic New Construction Award– Awarded to the Robinson home at 65 Oxford Street West for their heritage-designed master suite and wardrobe. Jared and Alyssa Robinson began their plan when building an addition on to their house, with keeping in mind the age/style of the home. By doing that they began to source and incorporate original brick, tin ceilings, a heritage-modeled fireplace, reclaimed oak, a custom hearth, mantel and various other enhancements during the build and design phases. The inspiration came from dressing rooms that were created from century-old tweed shops they have seen on their travels to the United Kingdom.

For a description of the award categories or information on the Heritage Advisory Committee click here.

Collection of Distinction Award.

Sympathetic New Construction Award – Alyssa and Jared Robinson.

Stewardship Award – A.E. Peacock’s Museum of Schools Room assembled by Previous Principal Dustin Swanson and Current Principal Tana Arnott.

Advocacy/Heritage Education Award – Western Development Museum’s Heritage Presentation Series (pictured Karla Rasmussen of the WDM) with Seniors Centre Without Walls Saskatchewan.