2021 Heritage Award Winners Announced

Craig Hemingway All News, Home Page News, Press Releases

March 15, 2022

MOOSE JAW – The City of Moose Jaw is pleased to announce winners of the 2021 Heritage Awards.

Each year the City’s Heritage Advisory Committee recognizes individuals and business owners, and have announced winners in the following categories:

Stewardship – Long term care of a heritage property. Protecting, maintaining and/or stabilizing the existing materials, form and integrity of a heritage place while protecting its heritage value.

2021 Winner: James and Carla Ferguson, 1006 Redland Avenue.

Restoration – Accurately revealing, recovering or representing the state of a historic place as it appeared at a particular period in its history, while protecting its heritage value.

2021 Winner: Joe and Laura Wills, 140 Oxford St. West.

Adaptive Reuse – Making possible the continuing or compatible contemporary use of a historic place, through repair, alterations, and/or additions while protecting its heritage value.

2021 Winner: Jillian’s Design Elements, 621 Main St. North.

Advocacy/Heritage Education – Recognizes the efforts of individuals or groups that are advocating heritage or promoting the conservation of a heritage site, or are increasing public awareness of heritage issues. 2021 Winner: Darrell Hawman, President – New Southern Plains Metis Local 160.

Sympathetic New Construction – Recognizes new design that respects the heritage character of an associated property, immediate context or neighbourhood. This takes into consideration the compatibility of the new buildings or additions with the heritage character of the streetscape, setting or neighbourhood in terms of architectural design, scale, form, materials and minimal intervention.

2021 Winner: Jared and Alyssa Robinson, 65 Oxford St. West.

For more details on the Heritage Advisory Committee, click here.